Calligraphy Cardigan

In 2012 I came across Knitbots’ Calligraphy Cardigan pattern. For my birthday my mom gifted me with the yarn for this sweater, Tosh DK by Madelinetosh in the colourway Cherry. I started knitting the sweater in January of 2013. Yes. 2013. It is now August 2016 and the sweater is still not complete. Not only is it not complete, it is less than 50% complete. On top of that, Madelinetosh doesn’t even make the Cherry colourway anymore.

sweater

I have started taking this sweater with me to work on. I leave it in the car for the impromptu lunchtime knitting meetings we have at work or for when I am stuck behind a train in traffic.  My hope is to get this sweater completed by January 2017. Four years to knit a sweater isn’t too bad right?

Sweater details:

I am currently knitting with 2 skeins at the same time due to the hand dyed nature of the yarn. The skeins are all relatively closely matched but it ensures that I don’t rip out a ton of work due to vastly different dye jobs. I have about 3 more inches of the body to knit before I do the 4 inches of ribbing on the bottom. Then I will do the sleeves. Finally the collar.

Leave a Reply

